Wanting to learn the fundamentals of Maxscripting and MEL Scripting

I am a student studying a Bachelor of Interactive Entertainment (Animation) at Qantm College in Brisbane. I am interested in becoming a Technical Artist in the game industry, and would like to know more about how to get into this field and what I have to learn to get in to this role.

I also want to learn maxscripting and mel scripting. If anyone could post any advice or tutorials on the fundamentals of maxscript and mel, or other resources. This would be much appreciated.

Terry

Hate to say it, but the best way to start learning max and mel script is to just start doing it.
The manuals do have a good starting point, so please devour them first, but if you want to get into the meat of MAXScript i’d suggest grabbing the fundamentals series from CG Adademy: https://www.cg-academy.net/es_catalog/index.php?cPath=27_41&osCsid=82v9aa7l8kirfp5i548ab8mevd9js26v

I can’t vouch for MEL, because I don’t use it. :):

To be honest i’ve found the best way to learn scripting is to study other people’s scripts. I’ve learned more about Python by going over Adam Pletcher’s GDC scripts than I have from tutorials in general.
For MAXScript Bobo’s siteis probably a good place to start.

Make sure you hit up the Qantm lecturers for resources. That’s what you’re paying them for! :slight_smile: You must have a library there somewhere, right? There are a great series of books for scripting, so if your course doesn’t have access to them, request them.

Do a lot of searching and asking on the respective CGTalk Maxscript and Mel script forums as well. There are already a lot of answers there.

Thanks for you help