Seeking guidance!

Hello everyone,

I’ve been finding it bored modeling all day long and would like to eventually go into VFX. I’ve found the technical side to many things in the past to be fun and challenging, and I am actually an IT Tech and understand enough about computing as it is I believe.

However I am not a fully fledged programmer, nor advanced at maths but rather basic (which I heard only requires some algebra, subtraction/addition & multiplication). With basic maths, how far might I be able to go as a tech artist if at all?

I currently hold a cert 2 in basic 3D in Maya and just started attending the cert 4. Would anyone know of any books or dvds I could purchase to ease myself from my current level with Maya into the technical side with vfx?

I also heard that tech artists have many different rolls within many areas. I’d like to know if there’s certain tech artist specialization that one can choose, such as “Tech artist, spec in. blah & blah” and allowing another tech artist in their specialization do their part alongside you. If so, what type of categories are there? (maybe I should use the forum category page as a reference sheet for the time being).

Cheers.

theres a few threads in here that answers most of your questions…and another one

One of UncCheesy’s links contains some of my thoughts on entering tech art. Here is another.

When you say “VFX”, what do you mean? One thing it usually means when it comes to tech art in games is “particle systems”. Is this what you mean, or are you talking in the broader “visual effects for film” sense? The latter sense can mean “anything that didn’t come from a camera, and sometimes things that did.”