Version Control with 3ds Max

As I am new with 3ds Max, I have found the practice of making several copies of a scene with increments to the file name mentioned. This coming from my development background puts up warning flags and brings the question up to is there a common Version Control system that is used?

For development I use TFS, Git and Mercurial, and would think to use these for the 3ds Max, Photoshop, etc… but what is used by you? and do you have any integration to them for these visual content creation tools?

3ds Max since version 9 (I think…it might be earlier) has supported any source control system that supports Microsofts VSSCC plugin specification. I’ve used Max and Perforce together for many years using that system.

If you’re using Perforce (which you’re not) you can get P4GT- otherwise, it should be pretty easy to write your own little toolset. Or you can go Jeff’s route, which though I haven’t tried myself, I tend to prefer custom solutions over built-in Max stuff where possible.

We ended up writing our own support for 3dsmax and Perforce communication. This has a couple of advantages over using the Max built-in Asset Tracking and P4GT.

• Ability to change annoying default behaviour of some nag-boxes
  • Run automerge on data types which can be trivially automerged
  • Ability to add any custom relations trivially (textures, texture metadata files, all types of files that are exported from Max etc)
  • Etc…

All Perforce communication is in a C# library (with proper error handling etc), so the same functionality is available also on Maya and any other software we want to support etc…

SamiV.

Great to hear and now know. I will be looking in to these as I setup version control with my projects.

On another note, is there a preferred version control package, or is this more controlled by the development house?

From what I can tell, people seem to love perforce.

I’ve never heard anyone complain about it.