Help with splitting a file path

Hi guys,

I am pretty new at Python and I’ve hit a wall. I am reading a file path from an xml file and store it in a variable. What I need is to separate the file path from the file name and because in the path name I have " " it doesn’t return the desired result.

I’ve read about the raw strings and it works perfect if i just type in the path but how do you transform a string from a variable to a raw string? I bet is a simple thing but I cannot figure it out :frowning:

So here are couple examples of what’s happening:

this is with the normal string:

>>> pathFromXML = 'D:\Backburner testing	est animation 01	eapot01_.png'
 >>> pathFromXML.split('\\')
 ['D:', 'Backburner testing	est animation 01	eapot01_.png']

this is with the raw string

>>> pathFromXML = r'D:\Backburner testing	est animation 01	eapot01_.png'
>>> pathFromXML.split('\\')
['D:', 'Backburner testing', 'test animation 01', 'teapot01_.png']

So how would I transform the value of ‘pathFromXML’ into a raw string?

Thanks in advance!
Anton

hey there,

you should be able to use the os.path.baseName() function

http://docs.python.org/lib/module-os.path.html

Thanks lkruel but the result is similar with the regular split.

The problem is with the path as it has the ’ ’ character so it does not see it as just a ‘’. If it’s a raw string then the parsing works properly…

try:

import re
re.split(r’\’,re.sub(r’ ‘,r’\ ', pathFromXML))

Heh, I think this is why paths should always be stored with forward slashes :slight_smile:

I guess this should do,

import os
#always put \\ because its an escape character
pathFromXML = 'D:\\Backburner testing\	est animation 01\	eapot01_.png'
dirName = os.path.dirname(pathFromXML)
fileName = os.path.basename(pathFromXML)
print dirName,fileName

:):