Are Riggers and TDs Secretive?

I’m currently a student studying 3D animation at university using 3ds Max and I wanted to get your feedback the question “are riggers and TDs secretive”? The reason I bring it up is that I think it’s difficult to find tutorials which go beyond the intermediate level which, I think, was set by Paul Neale and his rigging series for CG Academy. What I’m finding is, because I have no industry experience and have little knowldge of what an animator wants or what’s required in a professional studio, I’m having to try and reverse engineer the features that I see in demo reels to improve my knowledge and while I actually think that this process of deconstructing a system and trying to rebuild it is a very good way of learning, the point still remains - the resources for advanced level rigging seem to be slim.

I’m not trying to imply that riggers or TD are secretive or miserly with their knowledge, in fact I know riggers can talk passionately about their work in a professional environment, but perhaps I get the sense that keeping a few tricks up your sleeve is essential to differentiate yourself from your competition when it comes to applying for, and getting a job. And because rigging is so arbitrary - that is, having knowledge of, say, rigging a human can give you a good grounding for rigging animals, car, etc. - this compounds the issue.

Perhaps it’s because rigging is an experimental art best learned by trial and error or maybe it’s in part due to the relatively small size of the community or maybe I’m wrong and I’ve missed some advanced tutorials.

I’m keen to hear your thoughts.

Thanks for your time,
-Harry