Courses for aspiring tech artists

Hi guys,

I’m new to the forum, and I guess the career path. I’m currently a level designer at a mid-sized studio but wanting to move into tech art. I’ve been told I have the aptitude for it and I picked up Maxscript fairly quickly when taught by our in-house TA. I studied C++ at school, and am familiar with 3ds Max, Unity, UDK and have even made a level in Source so I’m wondering what to do next to broaden my skill set.

I’m considering going back to school and am curious if their are any schools/programs that provide some tech art specialized courses (I’m in Canada btw). Or any generally recommended courses.

Thanks for your help!

Hey there Pixel,

As far as standardized curriculum, there isn’t a whole lot set up currently, but there are more programs getting started. I apologize, but I am pretty unfamiliar with Canadian options for technical art training, so I’ll speak to the American options that I know of.

I teach in a masters level program out of the University of Central Florida, called the Florida Interactive Entertainment Academy (FIEA). Technical Art is kind of set up like a sub track/specialization option for the Art program there. It is three semesters + a semester long internship of production environment education.

I think SoCal also has some tech art instruction set up, and I believe that something is in the works down in Texas, but I am a bit fuzzy on that. Anyone who knows any other programs that are up and running, let me know, I’d love to hear about them. Most people I have spoken with never got formal instruction in school, and had to pick it up as they went.