Problem when importing FBX rigged using Advanced Skeleton - Missing geo

hello everyone,

i’m new to UE4, currently having export-import problems from Maya 2014 to UE4:

in Maya, the character geometry isn’t a single mesh geo, but consists of lots of geo fragments like this hierarchy:

[ul]
[li]Geo_Mesh_group
[/li][li]geo_group01
[/li][li]geo01a
[/li][li]geo01b
[/li][li]geo02
[/li][li]geo03
[/li][li]geo04
[/li][li]geo_group02
[/li][li]80 geos
[/li][li]geo05
[/li][li]geo06
[/li][/ul]

for rigging, I used Advanced Skeleton autorig plugin. it automatically created hierarchy as follows:

[ul]
[li]Group
[/li][li]Main
[/li][li]FitSkeleton
[/li][li]MotionSystem (FK + IK joints, controllers)
[/li][li]DeformationSystem (default bind joints + additional facial bind joints + accessory joints)
[/li][/ul]

when i finished rigging and skinning and tried to export the fbx, there were Maya warning and error messages as follows:

Exporting T-Pose FBX (‘Animation’ unchecked):

Warning: Complex animation baked (1) 537 attributes had complex animation. Complex animation was exported as baked curves. (112770 evaluations done)

then I ignored it and continued importing the FBX from UE4, which gave me warning messages:

when importing Skeletal Mesh (the T-pose FBX):

Multiple roots are found in the bone hierarchy. We only support single root bone. Multiple roots found Import failed.

when importing Animation FBX:

Imported bone transform is different from original. Please check Output Log to see detail of error.

the final results:

[ul]
[li]head geo is missing, but hair geo, which is a separate fragment, isnt.
[/li][/ul]

i had posted this question on ue4 forums, but someone said it’s actually Maya’s FBX issue.
so how do I fix these issue? your suggestion is appreciated with thanks.

Are you exporting the whole scene or carefully selecting only what you need and exporting the selection?
FBX will export far more than a game engine needs by default.