Python and Tex Editing

So I started learning Python to do some file organization/text parsing and writing, both inside and out of Max. I ended up just implementing all of Pythons string ops and methods into a MaxScript struct, along with other stuff I continue to write and add to it. What would be the benefit of using Python? Any metrics of how much faster it would be? Assuming one has a working knowledge of Python and strong knowledge of MXS, how much much longer do you think creating a UI and implementing the functionality would be (mostly scared about the UI, text editing scripts wouldn’t be too difficult). It is nice not having to leave Max to do text stuff and not having to set up a COM or however you get Max to communicate with Python, at least for those of us on this side of the canyon.

I do some pretty heavy text editing on a massive scale (like, adding together animations over a couple hundred XML animation files…), and I’ve had to do it for a few things so far. I’d be curious what the benefit would be of using Python in the future, since it really has nothing to do with Max.

So you’re talking about reading and writing large XML files, then?

Short answer: If you’re comfortable with MaxScript and have no complaints about its speed, then stick with MaxScript.

Although reading/writing large (150-200MB) XML files with MaxScript is one of the things that sparked the TAs at our studio to learn Python. We were using regular MaxScript readLine and it was not only dog slow, but consumed tons of memory. Granted, this was prior to the .NET exposure, so I imagine there’s a real XML parser or two accessible to MaxScript today, and perhaps that landscape has changed.