Small studio pipeline question (noob / basic) looking for guidance

Hi Everyone.
History:
i am self taught developer (5 years + ). mostly doing simple automations in 3dsmax / foundy nuke, maya etc. i worked at a studio (film / animation) as Technical Artist. My weaker side is (server / client). i have done basic sockets tutorials etc to send simple msgs / chat. done enough Search on topic and almost ready to start.
PROBLEM:
i need to create DAM(Data Asset Management) system for my studio for smoother production. as first step, all artist tools have basic capability built (ready). some ppl call it PAS (Production Asset management) or pipeline as well. If you (reader) less aware of such systems then few links below for solutions available and my comments
SHOT GUN (industry standard) expensive for us
SouthPaw TACTIC (open source) too big for us, they charge XXXX U.S $ for 1 week consultancy setup etc,
Blender BAM (open source) currently Alpha 3 only dedicated with blender, but can be additionally integrated with other apps
STALKER (opensource) base python framework, 90% suitable for us >> (built by another small studio) very similar requirements. having issues in setting it up.
ANIMA(open source) its interface on top of stalker, awesome, built by same studio, (not documented) almost impossible to setup.

REQUIREMENTS:
20 ppl team(artists) on NETWORK. (clients).
they need to connect to server which shows projects (from database) , each project contains sequences / shots
server shows them tasks as well, which they can work on. each task contain details of shots / assets etc, ideally client should take relevant files from server and copy on local pc (artist) which he / she can commit later on (via client)… i have details for data base planned out about what needs to be stored in each table and data mapping etc.

GUIDANCE PART:
all the search and research in last few weeks, i have also found TWISTED and TORNADO etc…(earlier is more relevant).