Maya-like Python IDE

This might be a stupid question, I’m pretty sure it is. I’m looking for a Python IDE similar to the script editor in Maya :stuck_out_tongue: I started coding Python with Maya, and I never really switched over to anything else when writing Python scripts, even if they were meant to be used outside of Maya. I’ve tried PyCharm and a couple of other IDE’s, but they have so much more than what I need.

I really just want something as simple as the script editor in Maya, where I don’t have to define a project before running code, and the option to just run selected code without having to configure the program. Is there anything like this? I would have kept using Maya if it wasn’t for the issues with imporing external libraries :rolleyes:

Charcoal Editor Plugin for Maya is quite nice, I use it almost as much as Wing IDE.

Something as Sublime is a lot cleaner as well, though I really like the feature set and customizability PyCharm provides. Getting PyCharm to work with the maya.cmds library etc is quite easy and can be found on this forum.

But what do you mean with; ‘issue with importing external libraries’. Just add the library-directories to sys.path, set them up in the Maya.env file, set them up in a userSetup.py file… so many possibilities to source directories containing modules :nod:

So Maya isn’t really an IDE, its a hugely overblown interpreter / live-coding environment

However there are some python tools that do work similarly.
I use iPythona lot, it has an enhanced interpreter mode, a Qt based console mode (which is an extra pretty interpreter + toys), and then the notebook web interface mode. The notebook option is rather awesome to work with as you can rerun cells at any time, much like the “hightlight + run” option you get inside maya.