How to tell if a tool is up to date

I’m very new to being a technical artist, and I’m running into a (probably common) issue with some of my tools out in the wild.

I’ve got a suite of Maya tools distributed to artists around the studio, and I’d like to find some way of showing the user the tool is out of date when they open it. I have a version number specified on each tool’s UI, and it would be great if that number was highlighted or red when the user should get latest from our source control.

So my question: is there a way for Python to query an online database that I upkeep with the current version numbers? Or does anyone have another solution to this issue they wouldn’t mind sharing?

Hi!

Interesting question, I think there are many ways to do this.

You could take a look at the Requests library for Python. http://docs.python-requests.org/en/master/.

request = requests.get('http://database.com/api')
response = request.json()

Or use urllib (Probably better to use in Maya python, not sure.)
https://docs.python.org/2/library/urllib.html

Ultra simple example to get something from a url:

import urllib
opener = urllib.FancyURLopener({})
f = opener.open("http://www.python.org/")
test = f.read()

So you basicly need to store your latest version number/ID somewhere. Maybe you can also build a simple API on the server side to have more control or information about the specific tool.
I hope this helps!

PS: You could also check the latest version using your version control software ofcourse, just like any other asset?