Tech Artist skill requirements and Education

Hi There

this is my first post on the forum so nice to meet you all?

my name is David Edwards and i’m a lecturer at Staffordshire University. i’m currently exploring the market for modules/course that would prepare undergraduate students for a career centered around working as a technical Artist in the games industry.
i know current industry artists, designers, programmers etc have a mixed opinion of games-art/design/programming courses at universities (along with qualifications gained from them). Hopefully this could be readdressed through the relativity of the course and modules to the games industry and delivering what an employer is looking for.

I would be interested in hearing peoples opinions on a course of this nature. any suggestions of content or focus would be appreciated and welcomed.
currently these are the aspects of study that are being considered:

MAXScript - UI & tool creation

UScript and Game engine - development of compitent game engine manipulation through code. developing game types, mutators, TC’s etc

Shader development - use of unreal material editor, shaderFX, to develop shaders (possibly looking at something like RenderMan to write shaders)

Character rigging - development and implimentation of custom rigs

Art Asset generation - development of 3d skills with max, zbrush, for environments and characters

if you feel that there is an area which has been overlooked please feel free to let me know. make suggestions, comments and feedback.

i appreciate your time for reading this long first post

All the best

Dave

All of the items you mentioned look appropriate to me. The important piece that ties them together is why you need to do any of it at all.