UnrealEd Workflows

Thought this might be a useful topic to get started to bounce around work flow with level design. What is your process when going about creating a level, tips and tricks for boosting game performance and so on.

I am pretty new to the new Unreal Engine 3 and some things about it are puzzling me. Many of the levels for this game are almost entirely static meshes how is it able to support so many polygons. In the older engine it was more beneficial to build walls for buildings out of bsp for an outdoor level, then apply meshes for trim and windows. Is this still a good approach to working with UT3?

Reason I ask is I am modeling a one room schoolhouse which will have desks and other props inside. Would it be better to let the level designer make the walls out of bsp? Then add the accent meshes for the trim and windows? Or would it be better just to build the whole school house within Maya and drop it in?

As long as you’re not importing the entire schoolhouse and are importing assets in pieces you should be OK. BSP is really is mostly used for blocking out the flow of the level, where you later go in and replace them with modular static mesh walls.

Modularity is key for UE3 from what I’ve learned and worked on so far. For example, a cafeteria would have a set of walls (flat, corner, rounded insets, ceilings, floors, etc) all separated in to modular chunks (maybe 512x512y in dimensions), and would then be put together like lego pieces… using the BSP template for dimensions if needed. Then, dress pieces would be made to throw around the environment like AC ducts and light fixtures.

This is all ideal for the two main types of culling going on in the engine:
Frustrum culling - anything that is in outlying areas of the view of the camera is culled out.
Occlusion culling - similar, but even if the object is in the view of the camera but completely behind another object, it will be culled as well.