[3dsmax] Referencing to replace XRef

Hi all:

So I’ve been looking at getting some sort of character rig referencing going in 3ds max as I’m preparing to start writing rigging tools for a project here that’s heavily based around it, and from looking around the best solution I’ve seen thus far is to have custom metadata on each asset and just create/destroy objects as necessary, rather than rely on XRefs or any of that other buggy nonsense.

I read: http://techanimator.blogspot.com/2012/09/3dsmax-animation-referencing-and-scene.html, but I’m wondering here since I’m relatively new to doing scripting in max: apart from having each object have an Attribute Holder modifier and adding custom metadata to each object that way, is there any other way to have custom metadata on objects? Kind of like the metadata classes in Maya:

http://download.autodesk.com/global/docs/maya2014/en_us/index.html?url=files/GUID-52A836EE-9A09-4B50-8C44-1A6941EAE9D7-1.htm,topicNumber=d30e169599

As I would really rather have these attributes be inaccessible to the end-users in order to prevent artists from accidentally deleting/modifying the metadata stored with each node.

I don’t know a lot about the options available here (Really, storing either user-defined object properties, the Attribute Holder/PEN attribute holder(which I’ve found to be buggy) are the only solutions I’ve managed to find so far), so if anyone would be willing to share what they do for their solution, I’d be glad to take any advice I can get!

EDIT: Managed to stumble across this old thread (http://tech-artists.org/forum/showthread.php?3493-maxScript-custom-attributes-to-aid-exporting-animtions), creating the attributes without a UI is probably the best thing I’m looking for here (having it be hidden from end-users unless they actually start screwing around with MAXScript), so I’ll go with this for now…seems like the best way to go!