Any advice for a Software Engineer turned Technical Artist?

Hey community! Haven’t posted much but I read lots of posts on this site, it’s been helping me from stage one on becoming a Tech Artist!

I’m a Technical Artist at a mobile game company, and I’ve been learning a TON. But weaknesses I’ve found hard to overcome are all on the art side. I consider myself artistic, I have experience with Photoshop and Maya, but almost all of my education and experience is in software engineering.

It makes a lot of sense for an artist to say, “Hey how can I make my process go faster?” And start to transition to Technical Art. But for me it was more, “Hey I love art, but I also love programming. How can I do both?” So I was never officially an artist to begin with.

Okay, sorry, long intro. My questions:
Any advice on improving art skills so I can be a more efficient member of the Tech Art team?
What were the best ways animators and riggers learned their craft?
Has anyone out there been in my position?
Most importantly, am I asking the right questions?

Ready to hear some feedback :slight_smile:
Izzy

There’s nothing like doing!

The best way to be a good TA – to be able to really help your artists – is to be enough of a working artist yourself that you can see things through their eyes. That means you need to make stuff (models, animations, effects – you’ll probably have to pick one and stick with it for a while to get useful experience) and most importantly you need to push it all the way to completion.