Distributed build systems for batch processing

Hi All,

Has anyone played with distributed build systems (SCONS, IncrediBuild, SNDBS, etc) for batch processing of assets? Did you get anything going in a production environment?

In my test case I have have been trying to get a bunch of Mocap conversion jobs to run in Maya standalone (mayapy), across an IncrediBuild grid. I got everything up and running, the only problem is that the remote processes crash when initializing the maya.standalone module. The jobs successfully complete on the host computer, but not on any remote machines.

Any advice or guidance welcome,

Keir

We use Incredibuild XGE for distributed data processing. Specifically for “crunching” our intermediate export formats into game target files. Flat-out awesome.

I have no experience hooking up Maya or Max to Incredibuild, however.

When Bosse was first exploring the Incredicrunch concept, Adam, he and I talked about using Incredibuild and MaxScripts to parallelize batch processing of Max files. He said it was possible, and probably not hard to set up. We never got time on our schedules to investigate any further, though.

Is Maya standalone what is used for network rendering? I know that when you bring Max up in renderfarm mode it only has the capability to render scenes. That’s the tradeoff for being able to install on copy of Max on N renderfarm machines and not need a license for each installation. Maya might have the same limitation.

Maya standalone is a bit more than a render interface.

mayapy.exe is a full blown python runtime. You can use it just as you would any python install.

maya.standalone is a module you can import into the python runtime. When it is initialized it starts up a full Maya session, just with out the UI. You can do anything that the GUI version of Maya can do (except draw UIs).