From points to Mesh in Maya

Hello guys, I’m a beginner in Python programming for Maya and I was trying to understand how to set up a project I’m working on.
I have a point cloud whose informations are stored in a a text file that I’ll call A. In this file I have the coordinates of all the vertices of the point cloud. Then I have a second text file, that I’ll call B, in which I have different coordinates of the same vertices.
I have to import the point cloud in Maya, generate a mesh from it and create an animation that will move the vertices from the position A to the position B (all through Python).
How would you approach this problem?

I don’t believe that maya has any kind of built in tools for coping with point clouds.
I know that MeshLab has some tools to deal with point clouds, as does Houdini.

But there might be some plugins for remeshing a point cloud, I just don’t happen to know about any of them.

Sounds like an ideal case for a custom node that loads these point cloud data files. Using the API would also be the only way to get that kind of process to be performant at all . . .

There are lots of unknowns based on what you’ve described. Generating a mesh from an array of points is not trivial, especially if the array is not already ordered in a way that will create a valid mesh as you iterate over it and create triangles.

The point is that if I create the mesh with meshlab, then I don’t know how to map the vertices so that they go from position A to position B

What have you tried so far?

Do you have any idea what the final item is supposed to look like? For example, is it something that you can just generate a convex hull from?

Is the data sorted in some way that might make generating a mesh easier or harder? Are all the vertices already in some kind of order that just going three by three and building triangles from them actually workable?