How to use Photoshop's COM interface with Python?

Hi,

I want to use Python scripts inside of Photoshop and from what I read, you need to use the COM interface of Ps. The problem is that I’m new to Python coding and Ps scripting in general and I didn’t find any info (for beginners) on this topic. I’ve searched the forums but the threads I found only provided some tips for advanced users.

So my question is: how can I learn to control Ps using python and the COM interface?

This should help.

Thanks for your reply, Adam!

I installed ActivePython (which seems to include win32 com) but the script doesn’t work :frowning:

(Python version is 2.7)

We’ve used multiple languages to talk to PhotoShop, and we have a loose rule in house. If you are trying to talk to PS from an existing application suite, then you can bang your head against the COM problems that you will inevitably encounter and add support to the existing code. If you are writing a one-off script that will be run “from PS”, then write it in JavaScript so that it can be run directly from the PS interface. You will find much more scripting support and examples online, and you seem to have a generally better experience.

BTW, if you don’t have experience with JavaScript, you can figure it out pretty quickly if you only want to do a couple tasks in it. It looks a lot like MEL/PHP with added object oriented stuff. PS also supports VBScript and AppleScript, but why paint yourself into a platform specific corner?

Maybe I should just switch to Javascript, like you said.
Using the COM interface seems to be a lot harder than I initially thought.

I’m more of a design guy actually, but I want to get into the technical aspects, too.

I do all my PS work in javascript. Less headaches, and the debugging is a lot nicer

I find the scripting interface a general headache and hassle. No matter what language. e.g. writing code like this to create a layermask:

activelayer_createmask = function()
{