Maya Export Plugin - What is going on with the languages?!

Hi,

So, I am a mature student. Worked as a modeler and animator in the past. Almost completed a two-year game-programming course.

My final project is supposed to be an animation-export plugin.
Problem is, I’ve never worked with Mel, nor Python , in Maya before.

The documents seem to say “This is how to make a python plugin for a new mel-command to print Hello World”… NOW GO BUILD ROME!

But I keep running into issues whereby, half the OpenMaya commands I want to use are in different versions of the API! And something useful simply doesn’t exist in one version or another!

What language/version do I use and how do I even know, when looking at the docs, that I am researching the correct one?!

If I were you I wouldn’t mess around with pymel or openmaya. Just go straight Python until you get a grip on what you are doing. There are only a few things I have run into that straight Python couldn’t handle and those were only available in mel. I still used python though, via the eval command.

I too am a mature student :wink:

If it has to be a plugin.
You’re looking at C++ or Python.

Python has the two APIs, (1.0) maya.OpenMaya is the more complete implementation, but has a lot of rough edges. (2.0) maya.api.OpenMaya is a lot nicer to work with, but is sometimes missing features. And sadly you can’t really mix the two.

If it were me, I’d attempt to do everything with the Python 2.0 API, just because of how much nicer it is to work with.

Now if this is just a script / tool, and not a full on plugin. Much like @SethMeshko said, I wouldn’t worry about the API at all, and just stick either to pymel, or cmds.