Need Help... Having trouble Getting subprocess to work in Maya Script editor

Hi, I am not a python newbie, but I am by no means an expert or a tech artist. I would say I am more on the power user side. So I work mostly as an 3D Artist who can write his own tools. I have been banging my head on a problem for about too days now and I think I just need some help.

I am trying to execute and external Python script from the Maya script editor in its own command prompt using subprocess

Code exectued in Maya script Editor

import subprocess
import os
subprocess.Popen([‘C:\Python27\python.exe’,‘C:\Scripts\a.py’],shell=True)

The script executes and I hear a beep but the a.py file does not execute. This is the basic code that is happening in the a.py file

Simple creation of a txt file

import os.path
save_path = ‘C:/Scripts/’
name_of_file = raw_input(“What is the name of the file: “)
completeName = os.path.join(save_path, name_of_file+”.txt”)
file1 = open(completeName, “w”)
toFile = raw_input(“Write what you want into the field”)
file1.write(toFile)
file1.close()

So the confusing thing is it runs in PyCharm IDE but not in Maya. I must be making a simple mistake that is usually the case. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks

Maya does weird things with stdout and stdin, which could be messing with the raw_input calls in your script.

Any ideas on what I could try next?

Does this need to be run as a subprocess?

I am not sure there is another way to launch a Python script in its own cmd prompt, I need the script process to run outside of maya on its own.

\a is an escape character for “play the beep”

flip your path seperators to unix style
subprocess.Popen([‘C:/Python27/python.exe’,‘C:/Scripts/a.py’],shell=True)

or use raw string input
subprocess.Popen([ r‘C:\Python27\python.exe’,r‘C:\Scripts\a.py’],shell=True)

I have tried that before, it doesn’t work. the a.py script never runs.

Things to try: