Substance Painter DDS exporter?

Hi!

My name is Rasmus and I’m a Technical Art student at The Game Assembly in Malmö, Sweden.

We’re currently working on our first project of the semester and have already run into a problem, or hurdle, of sorts that I’d like to solve/remove.

Our artists are working mainly with the Allegorithmic suite and apparently there is no option to export textures as DDS in Substance Painter. I’ve took it upon myself to try and solve this possible timesink but apparently we don’t have access to the Automation toolkit because we’re on student licenses.

I was wondering if someone had any tips or maybe an idea on how to solve this, to make it as smooth as possible for our artists so that they don’t have to save their textures in another format and then either convert in Photoshop or a straight up DDS converter.

Thanks!

It’s been a few years, but When I was doing texture pipeline stuff, we had a work flow like:
Photoshop > TGA > composite > DDS > custom format

We saved Targas from photoshop as our ‘source’ format , these were the 3DS Max textures
We had RGBA Diffuse, RGB Normal and Greyscale Specular TGAs

We scaled, filtered, and composited The Specular image into the Alpha channel of the Normal map using Imagemagick

The results were then mipped and converted to DDs with ATI’ s The Compressonator utility.
(which some one here on TAO recommended to me)
The Compressonator looks like it has since moved to open source on git hub.

Image magick had DDS support , but The Compressonator offered easier/better mipping results.

for manual conversion , Nvidia has a Photoshop plugin

Both Imagemagick and The Compressonator are command line utilitites.
I implemeted there use both via windows .bat files and by building command stings in Max Script executing with DOSCommand . A similar approach with Python os.system() or subprocess.call() or similar …python has a variety of ways to execute command line stuff.