Rigging a 2-d joint chain with flippable joints

[quote]
View in #rigging on Slack
tessamonash @tessamonash: @tessamonash has joined the channel
Hey all! My name is Tess and I’m a technical animator working on a 2.5D platformer called the Artful Escape. I have a feature I want to implement in the rig of our main character but I’m not really sure how to achieve it! Any ideas would be very much appreciated :slightly_smiling_face: I’m working in Windows and Maya.
Ok so the rig is made up of flat meshes staggered in Z space (as you can see in the diagram below). It’s essentially a 2D rig, made to be viewed from only one angle. Thus one of my main rigging constraints is that I don’t want to flip PVs as this flips the artwork and deforms some of the meshes in a gross way. However, I want to be able to achieve a pose like pose A - where the right knee looks to be bent inwards.
Currently I have a snappable knee set up, driven by distance nodes, that allows me to manually position the knee with a locator…buuut this doesn’t work if I want to move the locator behind the leg as the bones are still constrained by the IK handle.
Any ideas on how I can create a ‘breakable’ IK knee without any PV flipping? Is this even possible?
@tessamonash uploaded a file: breakable_IK_knee_setup.png

covinator @covinator: Instead of solving this with a rig, i’d probably solve this with a post process that matches your z-locked planes to your bone positions in a specific projection
then the flipping/rotating stuff isn’t really a problem anymore

brian_venisky @brian_venisky: OHAI @tessamonash

chrislesage @chrislesage: Another way could be to have 2 chains per leg. One pointing forward, and one pointing backwards, like a diamond. And then blend a 3-point linear curve or ribbon IK that blends between the two chains. That curve or ribbon drives the skin joints.