[Tutorial] Python Scripting in MotionBuilder

Howdy, folks! My name’s Alex Forsythe, and I’d like to announce a tutorial series that I’ve been working on for several months now:

Python Scripting in MotionBuilder

This is a free series of videos (with accompanying notes on my website) that offers an orientation to MotionBuilder’s Python SDK. I’ve been working with MotionBuilder for about a year and a half, both in Python and C++, and I originally found the transition from Maya to MotionBuilder a bit challenging. Most everybody knows Maya, with its wonderful documentation and plentiful tutorial content, but scripting in MotionBuilder seems to be regarded as something of a black art.

So, in an attempt to add to the small but growing canon of user-created learning materials for MotionBuilder, I decided to try my hand at producing a series of tutorials. In a nutshell, these are the things I wish I’d known about MotionBuilder when I first started. The target audience (other than “me two years ago”) is probably someone who’s used MotionBuilder as an end user and who’s comfortable writing scripts for Maya or 3ds Max, but who might consider him- or herself somewhere on the incredibly fuzzy line between TA/TD and scripter/programmer. I’m definitely expecting some competence with Python from the start, but I hope the videos are approachable and varied enough that you’ll be able to get something out of them regardless of your prior skill level.

If you’re remotely interested, pick a chapter that piques your curiosity and give it a look. I’ve tried to keep things snappy and concise as much as possible – there’s no hemming and hawing, and you won’t be left screaming at me to hurry up and finish typing already. Each video is obsessively planned and meticulously edited, there are animated diagrams to reinforce the concepts being discussed, and captions are available to compensate for my thick American accent.

[HR][/HR]
01 - pyfbsdk and Hello, Cubes ([I]YouTube[/I]) | 7:41