VFX Portfolio - Monte

Hey everybody, I recently put up my portfolio site with some VFX clips on it, and I was hoping to get some feedback on what I have uploaded so far!

Also I was hoping for some opinions on what kind of FX are most important to have on a folio, I’m trying to have a broad appeal as I’m a freelancer so I need to cover as many bases as possible.

http://montethompson.carbonmade.com/projects/4474196

Let me know what you all think

Welcome!

It’s very interesting that you’ve chosen to go down the route of a freelacer in Game VFX. I’ve only heard of one other case of this. How do you do it? How do you get over the problem that most studios only have inhouse tools? Do you work on site or remotely? It would be ace if you could share your experiences.

Some feedback! The following is just my opinions. Read and do with them what you please. :slight_smile:

The Fire:
I assume the fire is based off two fire emitters, one smoke, one embers and one smokeburst.

Using two emitters for the fire isn’t very efficient. You get more overhead this way. Also it makes it very obvious that you have one tall and one short emitter. The shape then becomes static. If you use the sprite scale and movement to shape the fire it will look a lot more dynamic. Also, the fire texture animation looks like it’s playing at 5 times the normal speed. Try adding depthfade to the fire sprites to make it less visible where they intersect with the ground.

The Embers have a very obvious orbit. Make the offset bigger so they flow more back and forth rather than spinning around an offset.

The smoke is very solid (as in, I can see and count the sprites). A small fire like this wouldn’t generate smoke like that. Try to make the fire “turn into” the smoke instead of emitting it from a point in the middle. initial position and transparency usually helps with this.
The colourfade is nice.